heat.mist
@

I’m gonna be getting my first tattoo sometime in the next month or two. I have been thinking about it for over a year. I know exactly what I want. It’s a chemical structure of a molecule relevant in medicine and exercise science (I’m a med student and exercise enthusiast). It will be about the size of a palm roughly to give you an idea. I am male and in my mid-20s.

I have been mulling over the location I want the tattoo. I am thinking on one side of the chest, a shoulder blade, or upper middle back (below the neck/in between the shoulder blades where it can be hidden).

In your opinion, which location is more aesthetically appealing for a guy to have a tattoo? Where would it look more badass? Where would women find it more attractive?

I may get another tattoo or two later on in life, but nothing much bigger than a hand size at most. It might be relevant in making the decision (I know some people want to save a certain area for a very big piece – irrelevant to me).

Finally, I am undergoing some muscle gain at the moment and have roughly 20 more pounds of muscle to add (will be a gradual process over an year). Will this change distort my tattoo or do I need not to worry about it?

Thanks.

msmercury
Participant
@msmercury

hi heat.mist,

very interesting indeed. while i cannot answer your question about muscle gain, i can at least weigh in on where a tat looks good on a guy. i personally like the chest idea the best. however, shoulder blade would look nice too. have you considered you upper arm at all?

one of the tats i have been wanting to get is a mix of the symbol for mercury, the planet mercury, the messenger god or symbol of such and virgo symbol all designed into one tattoo. i have actually started a sketch, but i’m not finished yet.

i’ll be interested in finding out what you decided to do and i hope you post pictures after it is done.

Best of luck!

BigZach
Participant
@bigzach