Chrissemac
Participant
@chrissemac

Hey folks my 1st post I am 27yr old female and a tattoo enthusiast I have two rather large piece one on my back and one on my fore arm (non offensive i.e non-religious etc) I work in retail and I am made to cover it up as it says in my employee handbook.
I would be ok with this if it wasn’t for the following factors:
Now tattoos seem to be more mainstream there a lot more people getting tattoos in visable place i.e neck and hands in my company and because there small and girly no-one seems to mind.
Also we have just recieve new uniforms and the long sleve version is so terrible I cannot even begin to describe them and the material itches me (I suffer from psosrias)
And lastly I was told by a tattoo artist that my employee couldnt discriminate against me by getting me to cover it up, does this have any truth to it?
Am I clutching at straws? Or can I get away with wearing a short sleve shirt. Btw I work in a bookmakers so its an adult enviroment and 80% of people I serve have tattoo’s. I asked why I wasnt allowed to have visable tattoos and I was told it looked unproffesional.
Any Ideas?
Thanks
:confused:

Gsouder
Participant
@gsouder

This has been discussed ad nauseum in other threads, check the search feature.

As far as your job goes, You agreed to work in a place based on a few factors including pay, Hours, benefits, and yes, dress code. If you agreed to this job under these conditions you should live up to your word- Meaning, if you really want to show your tats go get a job that allow you to show your tats. If not, keep them hidden while at work.

I would trust your tattoo artists’ opinion about the law as much as I would trust his/her opinion about medicine- Not at all.

Here’s what I came up with using another really useful search engine called Google:

Hiding tattoos is important in corporate America