gnarfo14
    Participant
    @gnarfo14

Hey guys, new to the site. Longtime lurker, first time poster. I just booked a date with Paris Pierides out of Charlotte in June. I’m a teacher and have time off during the summer so it seems like good timing. Since this is in the summer, I was wondering about the effects of chlorine since we will be taking my daughter to the pool a bit. I don’t mind to stay in the shallow end and keep it as dry as possible but is this pushing my luck with new work? I also do a bit of work outside in the summer months. The piece on my back will be covered, but do I need to worry about sweating and dirt after the scabbing has gone away? Being on my back, will there be any rubbing issues with a 4 hour car ride back home a day or two after the work is done? I guess I’m just trying to figure out if this summer us really the best time or not. Thanks for your help!

Dipland
    Participant
    @dipland

Welcome to the forum. I am sure you will get differing opinions, but here is mine.

I have found it better to get tattoos in the summer vs. winter. My winter ink has always been more of a healing struggle due to dry winter skin and trying to minimize scabbing, and maximize healing time.

If I get one in the summer, it’s easier to keep the ink uncovered and let the skin start to heal. That works best for me.

Once your scabbing is done, sweating and dirt should not affect your tattoo. Do keep sunscreen on it, and do minimize time spent in the pool.

On your ride home, try not to rub or scrape it too much.

Good luck. Post pictures when done.

Call_me_Lola
    Participant
    @call_me_lola