Vendrus
Participant
@vendrus

Hokay, I’m very new to the process of getting a tattoo, if not the concept.
I’ve been working on/off over the last couple of years to try and find something I want, and I think I’ve finally come up with something I like:

worldtree2-2.jpg

It’s clearly incomplete, but before I spend any more time on completing it, I’d like to have some suggestions at to whether it’s a viable (or sane) design. All that really needs doing is filling in the dragon and cleaning up/editing the branches, as is.

Also, if I were to take this to a tattoo artist with no expectation of any further design work needing to be done on their part, what would I need? I believe I’d need outlines, which I can still provide given I’ve been drawing on layers, but is there anything else?

(Any further suggestions as to the design itself, ie additions or areas to work on would also be most gratefully recieved)

((In case of any interest, the design is centred around the norse creation myth – the tree is the Ash Yggdrasil, the dragon Niddhogg))

(((Yeah, just realised I put this in the wrong subforum, apologies, I read ‘tattoo designs’ and didn’t scroll down further. Great start here xD )))

ljfran2383
Participant
@ljfran2383

wow. excellent drawing, what kinda colors are you looking to do one it? it would look sick with bright blue/green/orange.

the base looks rather…incomplete….I’m not sure what your trying to make it look like..broken glass maybe?

good progress though, cant wait to see this transfer to ink!

seaofc
Participant
@seaofc

I like it. Definitely a unique design. Just finish up the details at the bottom and make sure there are some bold colors to it and good shading, it will be an awesome piece.

Vendrus
Participant
@vendrus

Fingers crossed this latest version will clear up what’s going on at the bottom, or else I have a lot more work to do, heh.

As for colour, I wasn’t planning on getting any really (I have light skin, black will show up very well).