jrs468
Participant
    @jrs468

This will not be my first tattoo. But it will be my first time getting my tattoo done in two sessions. The first session will take aprox 2 n half hours and will just be the outline. The second session will be aprox 4 hours long. My question is do I tip after both sessions? Or just at the end when the tattoo is complete. And also how much should a good tip be for that size tattoo?

ezrider
Participant
    @ezrider

Just do it all in one session 🙂

Personally I would tip after each session.

Do not take life too seriously; no one gets out alive.
jrs468
Participant
    @jrs468

If it were up to me I would do it all in one session. The artist wants to do two.

DavidJednat
Participant
    @davidjednat

I’m a tattoo artist. I do love tips, but they aren’t mandatory. I would be more than happy with 20%. It doesn’t matter if it is at the end of each session or at the finish of the tattoo. I generally tip around 25% to other artists.

@davidjednat on Instagram.
jerryatrophy
Participant
    @jerryatrophy

I only recently became aware of the tipping your tattoo artist phenomenon. Like it isnt expensive enough. I try to do at least 15% every session now. If he cuts me a break i usually tip more.

buttwheat
Participant
    @buttwheat

Most of my tattoos are from the owners of their shops (usually you don’t tip the owner of the business) so I usually tip them with something cool like a t shirt or some salmon that I smoked up.

mrchen
Participant
    @mrchen

cash is good, good smoke is good, artists who already make a ton of cash I have given gifts, they really seemed to like something personal,
artists got a good idea how much money you make, give a healthy tip and they will take care of you, you are building a relationship, showing appreciation for the extra time, drawing and planning and all,

currently wearing 250 hours, and many more to go, cant explain what my ink means, its personal, it is about who I am
Wardy
Participant
    @wardy