jrs468
Participant
@jrs468

This will not be my first tattoo. But it will be my first time getting my tattoo done in two sessions. The first session will take aprox 2 n half hours and will just be the outline. The second session will be aprox 4 hours long. My question is do I tip after both sessions? Or just at the end when the tattoo is complete. And also how much should a good tip be for that size tattoo?

ezrider
Participant
@ezrider

Just do it all in one session 🙂

Personally I would tip after each session.

jrs468
Participant
@jrs468

If it were up to me I would do it all in one session. The artist wants to do two.

DavidJednat
Participant
@davidjednat

I’m a tattoo artist. I do love tips, but they aren’t mandatory. I would be more than happy with 20%. It doesn’t matter if it is at the end of each session or at the finish of the tattoo. I generally tip around 25% to other artists.

jerryatrophy
Participant
@jerryatrophy

I only recently became aware of the tipping your tattoo artist phenomenon. Like it isnt expensive enough. I try to do at least 15% every session now. If he cuts me a break i usually tip more.

buttwheat
Participant
@buttwheat

Most of my tattoos are from the owners of their shops (usually you don’t tip the owner of the business) so I usually tip them with something cool like a t shirt or some salmon that I smoked up.

mrchen
Participant
@mrchen

cash is good, good smoke is good, artists who already make a ton of cash I have given gifts, they really seemed to like something personal,
artists got a good idea how much money you make, give a healthy tip and they will take care of you, you are building a relationship, showing appreciation for the extra time, drawing and planning and all,

Wardy
Participant
@wardy
buttwheat;116061 wrote:
salmon that I smoked up.

peterpoose
Participant
@peterpoose

Mmmmmmm, that salmon looks tasty!

buttwheat
Participant
@buttwheat

Wardy here is some I did a little bit ago. It still has about 6 hours to go.