gwal101
Participant
@gwal101

hi, so im new to having tattoos and since summers here i want to be prepared. I heard that sunscreen wont do the trick in protecting your ink and that you need sunblock? ive checked a few stores and they only seem to carry sunscreen. i bought this product at the store and was wondering if it its good or not? if not what is a good product to protect my ink from the sun? and how often would i need to reapply?- thank you ๐Ÿ˜€

http://cgi.ebay.ca/SPF-60-Ombrelle-LOreal-MEXORYL-Sunscreen-240ml-8oz-/190533527452#ht_500wt_1156

sorry only can find a ebay link of the product

imperial1904
Participant
@imperial1904

Honestly, I usually don’t even use sunscreen or sunblock. Never really have and I’ve never had a sunburn… ever. It’s weird but that’s just me. I do use sunscreen every once in awhile, but I don’t really need it and my visible tattoos are just fine.

That sunscreen is just way overpriced, I wouldn’t pay more than $10 for sunscreen. Just go to Wal-Mart or Rite-Aide, ask someone who works specifically in health and beauty. I work in retail and there are different departments that people specialize in.

msmercury
Participant
@msmercury

Well, this is an interesting point. Which should we use on tattoos, the sunblock or sunscreen? I rarely have my tattoo exposed during the daylight hours and then it is only for a few minutes, but I am planning on doing some swimming soon and will be exposed to hours in the sun. I had never given the sunblock vs. sunscreen issue any thought before now.

Aussie_Al
Participant
@aussie_al

I would use either one – main thing is to not get burned

Then again even without tattoos these days people should use some sort of sunscreen or sunblock anyways

Adler
Participant
@adler

As long as it covers UVA and UVB rays it’s fine (broad spectrum), I don’t know if it’s sunscreen or block.

imperial1904
Participant
@imperial1904