irishman301
Participant
@irishman301

I did a search on this topic….found not exactly what I was looking for. I did see the ‘jobs that discriminate’ sticky, but this is a slightly different discussion.

Here’s my deal. I’ve wanted a full sleeve for years now….but I’ve always had the mindset of ‘nah, I can’t do that, because of my job’….

I am an Engineer at a forging shop, and honestly where I work now, they probably wouldn’t mind too much. Plus, I could always just wear long sleeves if they really did care….but I always had the concern that the it would make me lose respect at work due to the “non-professional image” it gives off.

Now, that’s just my job….that’s not me….My real passion is music. I play guitar in a band, and always have done that on the side. Obviously, there’s no stupid tattoo discrimination there….

Anyway, people worry that they one day might regret getting a tattoo…..Me, I worry that I may one day regret NOT getting a tattoo because I conformed and allowed others to tell me what I can and can’t do.

So ya, I have this career thingy that allows me to make a living, and it makes my parents happy and all that…but seriously, I just do that s*** to make a living. I just so happen to be really smart at mathematics, so I’m able to be an engineer….but I don’t really give two flying s***s about it honestly. I have no passion for my work….I have passion for my OTHER work (the music).

The only problem is that the passion doesn’t make the money, so unfortunately I have the dilemma still that if I want to make the money, I have to somewhat play by their rules…..

Discuss…

-DMD-
Participant
@dmd

This is our society; hurting it, will only hurt YOU.
I myself always wanted to get a visible tattoo, but I still am concerned about my future job.
I’ve just finished collage yesterday(graduated at mechanics) and I’m off to my military duty for three god damn years!