UrbanLegend711
    Participant
    @urbanlegend711

Hi guys. I’m relatively new to getting tattoos- I got my first (a simple neuron on my ankle) at 26. I decided I wanted a second when I graduated from graduate school a year ago. I spent the year narrowing down how I wanted to go and thinking Bout artists. The guy who did my first moved out of the area.
    Several of my friends have work done by this one local artist and it’s all stellar. I went to him and liked him and we started a sketch process. He kept saying come back in a day or two, but when I would the drawing wasn’t finished yet. Everyone said to just trust him and I would love it. I liked the outline sketch, but no detail was in it and he said we’d do that part later. It’s a multi-session design. During my first sitting, he added some elements that were not in the sketch and detail I had not seen. I’m upset, and he told me he cannot show me a finished sketch because the shading and detail would look totally different on my skin. I’m freaked out by the idea of having no clue how it’s going to look and not being able to visualize it before it ends up permanently embedded in my skin. Am I being unreasonable? It seems odd that he wouldn’t put detail into a drawing for me to see when it’s permanent! Should I find a new artist to finish my tattoo? Should I stick with this artist, even though I do not like some of the changes he’s made without telling me first?

I’m losing sleep and am very stressed over this. Any advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

poxphobia
    Participant
    @poxphobia

Alright here is what you need to understand; Tattoo artists are ARTISTS. Not machines.
    Some do very detailed scetches, but quite a few of the better artists only do rough sketches before hand, because they are creative and that’s just how it works.
    You will actually never be able to see how a tattoo is going to look exactly by using a drawing. Never.