Nightsabra1
Participant
@nightsabra1

I’m really just looking for a good amount to save up for my first tattoo. Tip to the artist included, as well as assuming they charge a fee to draw my design. Not sure if this is really possible, so if you know a way for me to determine it or if I might as well just go ask, please share!

Thanks in advance. I’m a newb skin.

buttwheat
Participant
@buttwheat

somewhere between $100 to $10,000. Lots of factors to consider.

Call_me_Lola
Participant
@call_me_lola

Welcome to the forum. That question is sort of like asking “how much is a car”.

It depends on so many factors.

How big will it be. How detailed. Colour or black and grey. Some artists charge by the hour, and some by the piece. Some are speedy and some work a lot slower. And the rates vary widely from country to country, and even from city to city.

For instance where I am the average shop rate is about 170-180 dollars/hour. My local artist charges $200 an hour or more. A good friend of mine only pays $60/hour, but she gets really shitty tattoos done by an apprentice (who I wouldn’t let near my skin with a felt pen).

But you might as well start by saving up a butt-load of cash, cuz after you get your first one I bet you get another. And another. 😉

Finally, the best advice that I can give a newbie is this: Once you are ready to go for it and find an artist who’s style you like come back to the forum and post a link to their work BEFORE you put down a deposit. Ask us if they are any good. The good folk here will give you an educated opinion on whether the artist has any talent or not.

In the meantime, find one of PeterPoose’s posts and check out the link in his signature. You cannot go wrong with any of the artists on his list. And they have many pictures of amazing tattoos to look at. If you are lucky one may be near you.

Nightsabra1
Participant
@nightsabra1

@Call_me_Lola 137281 wrote:

Welcome to the forum. That question is sort of like asking “how much is a car”.