lookitsandrea
Participant
@lookitsandrea

Hey guys!

A little over a year ago I began to write a fantasy book (I’m a creative writer). It became heavily inspired by Norse Mythology (and Vikings), and thus my fascination for it began. A few weeks ago I finally bought a book on Norse Myths and I’ve begun reading it. I love it so far! Nonetheless, when I finish, if I am so inspired and so in love with the stories, I would love to get a tattoo of it. I just think the stories are so creative, beautiful, etc.

I was searching for some tattoo ideas when I found this: http://tanathe.deviantart.com/art/celtic-knotwork-Yggdrasil-211521336

It seemed too perfect! My favorite music style is Celtic, I LOVE Irish accents, and I’ve always wanted to visit Ireland. Norse Mythology mixed with Celts? Yay!

Nonetheless, this design is a back tattoo. I don’t want this specifically (it’s a little too tribal for my tastes) and I’d prefer some feminist flow to it… But that’s the basic idea.

I’ve never been tattooed before, and I’m pretty scared of needles. But I do have a high pain threshold, and if I’m paying for it, I’ll just stick it out. Although I’ve heard the spine can be pretty brutal… That scares me.

Nonetheless, I have a few questions.

First of all, for a first tattoo, how do you think I’ll do? Can anybody describe the pain in their own experience?

Secondly, how will this tattoo age? I know people say “live in the moment”, but this is with me forever, and I want to make sure that when I’m a wrinkly old lady it won’t be disgusting. (I do stay out of the sun as I have an allergy to it. If it is exposed while swimming, though, then you can bet that there will be some pretty high SPF sunscreen on). Also, I’m only 20 (almost 21). I plan on having children. It’s in the back, so I imagine childbirth won’t affect it much?

Thirdly, and finally… About how much do you think a tattoo like this would cost? Thanks! 🙂

peterpoose
Participant
@peterpoose