jtdaltonsr
Participant
@jtdaltonsr

Ok I did not know where to post this thread, so here we go. New to tattoo forums, by the way my name is John, Im from Penhook, Va. I have been doing homemade tattoos for 12 years, and this past month my fiance wanted to surprise me and bought me a professional kit with 4 machines, 1 cutback liner, 1 normal liner, 2 shaders. The only problem is im used to homemade setups, I dont know how to tune my machines. The shops in this area are limited to 2 only, and they are VERY shady. No good work comes out of those places, so questions for them are a no no. Any ways, I dont know how to properly tune, proper volts, needle depth, how to hold the friggen machine. A 45 degree angle on lines? what about shading? nothing that I did on homemade setups is working. ANY INFO WILL BE GREATLY APRECIATED.

Adler
Participant
@adler

SCRATCHERS NOT WELCOME !!!
You’ve been tattooing for 12 years and can’t answer these questions yourself…do everyone a favor and throw everything out and seek a professional apprenticeship.

jtdaltonsr
Participant
@jtdaltonsr

Not the professional response i was looking for…i have been doing HOME MADE tattoos for 12 years, and just have a few questions. if you would have paid attention, the shops in my area are no good, if you dont know the answer, dont post please. ur just crowding up space for the people that KNOW what to say to these questions. any who, any PROFESSIONAL INCITE instead of saying get an aprentiship? Like i said, no can do right now,(only 2 shops and they are questionabley shady) and so what if im a scratcher, we all start somewhere. My work doesnt reflect me being a scratcher dude.

Adler
Participant
@adler

Believe it or not, some aspiring artists actually travel to a good shop for apprenticeship rather than just base everything on 2 local shops. Besides, I’m not sure if technical stuff is allowed here in the first place. I’ll stop there, good luck to you.

Post up some of your work if you don’t mind.