tattedteen13
Participant
@tattedteen13

Hello all, I am currently a freshman at UNL in Lincoln, Nebraska. As a final project for my english course we were challenged to choose an issue in a community that we belonged to and express why it was urgent. Within the last year, I have gotten two tattoos that I am very proud of. Yet, sometimes I wonder about how the more visible one on the back of my arm will affect how others perceive me and even potentially my job opportunities. I would just like to share some of the information I found about this issue and how perceptions are beginning to look up. Growing up in Nebraska, there is more of a conservative outlook against tattoos so I was expecting to find more information on discrimination but was pleased with the loosening in policies that have been coming into play.
What I found most reassuring when researching was that people no longer view the tattooed community as a homogenous group. People get tattoos for all kinds of reasons ranging from religious to resistance. The idea that people with tattoos have a history of delinquency is moving out of people’s heads. Still 70 percent of people with tattoos have them in places not always visible. The only reason behind this is not fear of judgement but it can not be denied that that played a role in a good amount of those people. Tattoos are a huge commitment and ignite pride in people, no one should be shamed for the art on their body.