Joker1
Participant
@joker1

So my tattoo I got a week ago has scabbed up thick and it’s started peeling (still a few large scabs left).
Last night while asleep, I scratched my arm with my thumb-nail and accidently pulled a few large scabs off (woke up straight away).
It doesn’t look like it pulled any ink out, but it’s re-scabbing in a few small spots.
Is this going to effect the end result of the tattoo?
What happens to a tattoo when you pick at it?
Kinda disappointed, because I’m usually so careful in my aftercare. Will a touch up fix any problems that might occur?

LiquidCarbon
Participant
@liquidcarbon

As far as I know (im no expert!) a touch up should be able to repair any accidental damage thats occurred to a tattoo while its healing, and im pretty sure most artists will offer a free touch up for any tattoo that they do!

PsychoticInk
Participant
@psychoticink

Pulling the scabs off will usually cause damage to the tattoos, wether by removing part of the tattoo itself, or creating a silver scar as I call it over the effected area. Silver scar is just a spot that will be dull in nature and often has a light grey film look over the tattoo. Anyways $hit happens and yes a touchup should be fine if its really needed. I have done the same thing when I am asleep or changing clothes, snagging the tatts.

Butterfly
Participant
@butterfly-2

all it should need is a little touch up , my last tattoo healed badly because of the placement and lots of movement but now its healed you cant tell that it gave me hell for 3 weeks :rolleyes:

Joker1
Participant
@joker1
PsychoticInk;52294 wrote:
creating a silver scar as I call it over the effected area. Silver scar is just a spot that will be dull in nature and often has a light grey film look over the tattoo.

Can you still tattoo over that to fix it? And will it eventually go away?

PsychoticInk
Participant
@psychoticink

Yea it can be lightly gone over a second time. It needs to be a light brushing though and not hammered in.