Shawnz
    Participant
    @shawnz

Hello,

i am new to tattoo’s and tattoo aftercare, i recently got a tattoo on my back/shoulder’s area. and that was last friday. i have been putting the A&D ointment the artist gave me on on it…3 times a day b cuz i read all over the internet to keep it moist…my artist didn’t rlly tell me anything, just told me to come back in the next 2 to 3 weeks for the coloring/filling in… i have even been avoiding taking a shower or anything because i have been scared of fading the ink, so basically i havn’t even cleaned the area because im scared of doing something wrong..but earlier today i was putting the ointment on it as usual, and the tatoo felt more crisp now, so as i was rubbing i looked at my fingers and there was a solid black line of color on it…so i started freaking out..i looked at the tattoo, and it looks like the tribal outline i has been unconnected…cant tell that well because it’s on my back.

but any advice would be greatly appreciated, anything on aftercare or as to what i should be doing and thank you very much =)

Sherav
    Participant
    @sherav

Hi Shawn

First bit of advice is do not panic – seriously it achieves nothing and if there is any need for a touchup (which is often common) your artist wuill do this for you.

There are several posts on aftercare on the forum but in summary;

Use the antiseptic cream 2-3 times a day do not swamp it a thin layer is enough.

Do this for the first 2-5 days or until the tattoo seals over (scabs)

Then switch to an unscented lotion 2-3 times a day to keep moist.

You need to wash your tattoo daily with water to stop infection shower as normal but do not scrub the tattoo area. Pat dry gently afterwards.

When the tattoo starts to peel it will push out some excess pigment – do not pick play or touch the scabs unless gently applying moisturiser.

If the ink has dropped out let it heal and the artist will touch it up for you.

Take Care
    Matthew

Shawnz
    Participant
    @shawnz