Poesy
Participant
@poesy

Hey!

I’m Poesy, 21, working on getting my first tattoo. I’m an english lit undergrad (about to graduate) and so that’s incorporated into the tattoo. Not really the sort of person anyone would ‘expect’ to get a tattoo, but hey, screw stereotypes from both sides of the debate right?

Doing lots of research and everyone seems helpful so I thought I’d join and get some questions answered. I so desperately want it to go right and be something I can always be proud of.

One quick question:

I want ONE tattoo. This is the agreement with the boyfriend (he’s not controlling or anything, he’s caring. I’m recovering from depression and he knows I got my piercing when I was in a bad way – he doesnt want tattoos to become some kind of self harming fix) , and I know, at the moment, having not gone under the needle, that I want one and one alone. How difficult is it to stick to that? I’m getting the impression everyone gets addicted?!

Thanks guys, looking forward to getting to know you

Poesy

Jubakuba
Participant
@jubakuba

Welcome to the forums!
And congratulations on your upcoming graduation.

It isn’t so much that you get “addicted,” but rather…introduced to the art.
You lose your initial fear and you begin to realize how amazing the art can really be.

If you really really only want one tattoo, you’ll be fine with just one.

ArniVidar
@arnividar
Poesy;67455 wrote:
I want ONE tattoo. This is the agreement with the boyfriend (he’s not controlling or anything, he’s caring. I’m recovering from depression and he knows I got my piercing when I was in a bad way – he doesnt want tattoos to become some kind of self harming fix) , and I know, at the moment, having not gone under the needle, that I want one and one alone. How difficult is it to stick to that? I’m getting the impression everyone gets addicted?!