Frae
Participant
@frae

Hi everyone ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m joining this forum as a tattooing enthusiast, but truth be told I’ve wanted to be a tattooist for over ten years! I know, I know a lot of you are already seething “potential scratcher” under your breath… worry not!

I’m originally from England, I’m a designer by trade and education (predominantly for print) but I moved to Belgium with my other half around nine months ago. I’m learning Dutch as a second language and I’m wholeheartedly committed to becoming fluent. Because I’m learning a new language (and taking a break from working) I had a unique chance to stop and rethink my career path and persue what I’ve wanted to really do and what I feel I am perfectly suited to. I reckon that I have one last shot to be a tattooist and I’m going for it with everything I’ve got!

And no, no home made or ebay bought machines or experimenting on humans for me! I know this is a heated debate throughout the tattooing industry and I take on board both sides of the argument… but personally, I really feel that an apprenticeship is the only way to go, for me. I’m working on a portfolio of creative designs right now. I’ve asked around a little bit on the phone but I’ve been told to just “show up with a portfolio of good designs” at reputable shops.

I’ve read the “the rules” topic but i’m a little confused as to where I can fit in here and what I can and can’t ask. I don’t want to break rules and be a complete noob… shall I stick to being here in an “enthusiast” capacity or am I allowed to ask questions about apprenticeships and get advice? No problem if not, but I am mainly here for advice from people in the loop, so i’d better find out before i end up accidentally stepping on peoples’ toes! ๐Ÿ™‚

Aah, sorry for wall-of-texting you guys but i’m so damn enthusiastic about tattooing!

All the best,

Kat

BIKERinBLACK77
Participant
@bikerinblack77

Welcome to the forums!