Apophis
Participant
@apophis

Hey.

I have been new to different forums and I understand that such a question and attitude can bring a shit-storm. But please bare with me, and if you can help me decide if I should get involved with the tattoo community I will be really grateful.

So, to start with, I have been an artist as a child. Gone to some child competitions and scored among the first, or first in my town, like 5 or 6 times. Those are like 50 – 100 contestants – best of each of few schools. Not that much big of a deal, really. But I really loved painting and was good at it. But I became frustrated with the attitude of my teacher and the organization behind all this. The art teacher I had was a true artist and had gone to an art vacation to Africa to paint (I don’t know if you are familiar with what I’m talking about, but art teachers in Bulgaria get the opportunity to get a 1 year long unpaid vacation, during which time the position stays reserved for the teacher) she never came back though. The replacing art teacher on the other hand couldn’t draw and had negligible attitude. This resulted in a 2nd place on an exhibition that was not given to me because the particular painting I haven’t signed and she didn’t step in to argue, though it was hers mistake, and yet worse, a complex sketch I was working on was given to a 2nd grader(I was 5th grade at the time) or something to paint shit on the back, because she didn’t care to look at it, or know which of her students have what in which cupboard. That, and I became a teenager.

As a teen I was heavily into the underground culture, and unsurprisingly, I became a graffiti artist. This was also the first time I crossed paths with the tattoo culture. I am still more than a decent graffiti artist to this day. But, at least for me, graffiti lacked originality, at large. So, I gradually found myself leaning towards more expressive art forms.