Sockk
Participant
@sockk

Hello there! I’ve been looking for what I think would be fairly basic information, but haven’t had much luck.

Back story: At the moment I’m un-inked, or whatever you guys call it, Ink virgin?
Anyway, I’ve wanted a tattoo for the last decade, but I’m not an artist, so I ran one of these online competitions to get a design that I liked.

It was good.
But it wasn’t perfect.

So after spending days faffing about with photoshop I’ve managed to tweak all of the little things I wasn’t 100% happy about.
I have my design, I know where I want it to go.
Only whilst I love it as a design, I’m not 100% convinced that the original design (that I’ve only slightly adapted) was ideal for a tattoo in the first place, I’m concerned about how it’s going to age.

I don’t want to waste someones time on completely overhauling a design, that I might then decide not to get because I’m still not happy; So I’m happy just tweaking the design further until it’s perfect.
To do this I would love it if you experts could help me with some of the basic info, that I seem to be so incapable of finding on search engines, and just clarify I’ve got things right.

To help a design age well…. (And this is to do with DESIGN, not aftercare)

Go big, because any ink bleeding will be less likely to interrupt the integrity of the design, yes?

How much space would you leave between detailed features to prevent them melding together into a Rorschach?

I’m aware that the colours will affect the aging, but how well does shading age over the decades? I don’t mind a touch up, but can’t afford it every three to five years or so, and I’m curious about the ink bleeding affect on shaded areas.