SweetBlasphemy
@

Hey everyone, if you believe that nobody should be turned down a job because of having tattoos or any other body modifications then please sign this petition. We’re trying to get as many people as possible. http://www.change.org/petitions/include-body-modification-in-equal-opportunity-employment

Wardy
Participant
@wardy

DavidJednat
Participant
@davidjednat

Let me preface this by saying that I am a tattoo artist. I believe that an employer has the right to refuse employment to a person who has willingly altered their own appearance permanently. Especially if that person has visible tattoos, piercings or implants on the face, head, neck, or hands that cannot be covered under normal circumstances. It’s not the employer’s fault that a potential employee has CHOSEN to modify their outward appearance in a way that is not in line with a company’s appearance and/or dress code.

Nobody is forcing people to tattoo hands, necks, or faces; so nobody should force employers to hire them. This isn’t the same as race, color, injury, or deformities.

The shop where I work doesn’t employ people with facial tattoos. We don’t hire them because we don’t want the average potential client to feel uncomfortable interacting with our staff. We won’t tattoo faces period. We also won’t tattoo hands or necks unless the client either already has them tattooed or is so covered that there isn’t anywhere else to tattoo.

When I have my own shop someday I don’t want someone telling me who I have to hire. Why would I want to hire someone who has a visible track record of making poor decisions?

Panter
Participant
@panter

I reserve the right to make what ever decision I see fit regarding job applicants.
That’s my job, to protect the shareholders interests, that’s what I’m paid to do so that’s what I do. Sorry.

anonymous
Participant
@anonymous
DavidJednat;112590 wrote: