lza89
@

Hi guys,
I am a third year Anthropology student at the university of Southampton, UK, and I am currently conducting research for my dissertation which is on the subject of body modification. More specifically it is on the motivational, ideological, social and cultural aspects of body mod. Furthermore I am contemplating and analysing why certain types of body modification, such as tattoos, are seen as socially deviant and against norms, whilst others, such as cosmetic/plastic surgery, are seen as socially sanctioned.

So I was wondering if anybody would be willing to help me in conducting my primary research for this. Basically I am trying to create a virtual focus group on here, I will start of by posting my first question to generate answers, I would then like people to respond not only to my questions but to other members responses, creating a discussion rather than a typical questionnaire survey format.

I am coming from a neutral background, and the questions will be unbiased, allowing you to freely express your thought. I will then periodically introduce new questions for though and discussion as it progresses. There is no pressure to complete this, you can post only once and not again, however it would obviously be more beneficial to my research if you were to keep track of the thread and respond accordingly.
If you are interested in helping out just post a reply letting me know, also if anyone has any questions about how I will be using the information supplied or the study itself feel free to ask.

Thank you for your time, and I really hope you can help :).

ArniVidar
@arnividar

We are having an influx of people asking the same questions and giving relatively the same back story. I wonder why this is such a popular dissertation subject.

poxphobia
Participant
@poxphobia

There already exists anthropological studies on this EXACT topic. (I’m an anthropology student myself)