1inflorida
Participant
@1inflorida

My neighbor, nice lady, good mom, developed an unusual bump under stomach skin, solid, round pingpong ball sized. It grew fast, began 2 weeks ago. She’d gotten a wreath-shaped stomach tattoo 6 weeks earlier, and this growth is right smack in the center of it.

Could be coincidence of course. Doctor didn’t have diagnosis, only that blood tests showed no bacteria. I’m retired from 35 years in medical research lab, so I can say with assurance that this insurance-assigned doctor is just guessing, badly, his solution was go find a surgeon. And much more thought/info/tests should happen before surgery on this odd a bolus. I’d feel a lot better if we could eliminate the tattoo before treatment get drastic.

I have zero knowledge re tattoos, and would really appreciate hearing from people familiar with the field– have you ever heard of something like this developing in connection with a recent tattoo? She’s in emergency room again now, pain’s awful, and as with other doctor, tattoos don’t seem to be taken very seriously.

Hoping you can provide a little expert info or know someone that can? Thanks very much–

ArniVidar
@arnividar

I hope Sherav sees this soon. I doubt anyone here knows more about health issues and tattooing than he does.

1inflorida
Participant
@1inflorida

To intelligent-looking gentleman from Iceland– thanks so much, really appreciate that you read me, I’m about as unfamiliar with posting on forums as with the world of tattoo arts. hoping Sherav sees this too-

Natalie tells me that site is closer to a new navel piercing, done at same time as tattoo. Guess I hadn’t noticed piercing, being not accustomed to examining my neighbor’s mid-drift! Also, she has similar-sized tattoo on leg from about 6 months earlier which she’s tolerated perfectly well.

When you’ve got a medical mystery, helpful to consider any/all recent body changes, even minimal, normal stuff. Even if you don’t know what it is, good to know what it’s not–