Kr1s44
Participant
@kr1s44

Hi, my names Chris and as yet i have no tattoos:( but am getting some text on my forearm in a few weeks. I have a question for all you guys who have experience of getting ink, I see alot of people with full sleeve tattoos and wonder how they got them designed etc. Being a newbie i don’t really know how the whole process works, but for the last year or so i have wanted to get a half sleeve tat, i have loads of ideas a few pics of others tattoos that i like but i am not artistic in the slightest and can’t draw so i have no idea how to get those ideas put together into a tat. I really like the work of Mr Cartoon not because he has tattooed famous people etc but i really like his work and would want it done in that style . So yeah really what i’m trying to say is how do go about getting a custom half sleeve designed and drawn up.

Kind regards,
Kris.

Jubakuba
Participant
@jubakuba

Once you have your main pieces set up…
Basically, you just walk into your artist’s shop and ask him/her to fill ‘er up.

The two of you can talk about colors/designs and what-not…
But the general concept is to create “filler” to morph your pieces into one tattoo.

That being said:
Some pieces won’t look very good next to others and would be hard to fill in the blank space.

Sherav
Participant
@sherav

Hi

As said you take the pictures of what you like and the artist will discuss how he can turn it into a flowing piece as a part/half/full sleeve.

That said text only tattoos can be a bit more tricky to incorporate into a sleeve unless you know how you want to make it part of a tattoo.

For example if you had biblical text you could go for a religious theme but if just had a name or date of birth etc you may need to think a bit harder about how to use that.

Take Care
Matthew

Kr1s44
Participant
@kr1s44

sorry i should have been more clear. The text is going to be completely seperate on my forearm not part of the bigger one i want on my upper arm.

Regards,
Kris.