brandontw
Participant
@brandontw

So a tiny bit of background on me first. I’m a big guy, 6’6″ 230 lbs, white as can be… haha.

I don’t currently have any tattoos, but I’ve been thinking about one along these lines for quite a long while now.

I have a few criteria that must be met for my first tattoo…

1. Fairly large (go big or go home i guess)
2. Only black ink.
3. I really want it to be something i designed and drew, I’m not a great artist, but i have my moments i think.
4. I want it to be fairly artistic and meaningful to who i am and what i believe in.
5. I don’t want it to be cliche’ or tacky or anything like that, so if you think my designs are either of those, please be honest and make a suggestion to change it.

Other than that… here is the idea… its sort of a different stylized take on the tree of life concept… it would be about the size of a regular letter size piece of paper i think, the roots would be on my bicep then the rest of the tree would continue up my arm and up onto my shoulder, and it would wrap a fair bit around both my arm and my shoulder where the tree gets wide at the top and bottom…

Here is my concern: with the bold lines and tribal look, I’m afraid it might be mistaken for a classic tribal band type of thing, which is not really what i’m looking for…

Sorry for the bad pics… cell phone. I like the one with the leaves better than the one with the curls- i’m working on the next iteration of that right now.

design1.jpg

design2.jpg

Butterfly
Participant
@butterfly-2

ok 3 things !

1st
i hope by you saying your as white as can be you mean your the colour of milk and not that you have any racist views because that wont fly well here .
we have a good mix of people here !!

2nd
i like the design idea but i would get your tattooist to tidy it up for you !

and 3rd
i personally think it would work better as a back or rib tattoo .