Xirus
    Participant
    @xirus

Hi,I am new to these awesome forums,and my real name is Aaron.

I am getting my 1st tattoo from a shop in my area call White Tiger Tattoo.Is it important that I see the final design drawn up in color before I get it done?My Dad is adamant that I should,and he insists that I won’t like it if I don’t make sure everything is right before it gets “put on me”.I know that it is my body,and my tattoo but he does have a point.

The only reason he insists on it so much is because he went to the same tattoo shop and they gave him a color drawing off the bat when he went for his tattoo.That said he hasn’t gotten a tattoo in about 12 yrs.so we are talking about a completely different artist here.

I have seen the design itself,and it will use color,it will be a arm piece about 8-9 inches long 3-4 inches wide.
    It is of a Dragon wrapped around a sword.I had her draw it up in her art-style from a tribal design I had found.

Butterfly
    Participant
    @butterfly-2

you have the right to see it in colour if you really wish to, if you have found this artist and happy with her work i wouldn’t really let it bother me . just ask her what colours she has planned .
    with my tattoos i never bothered :rolleyes:
    with my wings i told them i wanted them with plenty of green and with my arm because its a cover up i left it totally up to her ..

Sherav
    Participant
    @sherav

Hi

Your dad is right.

If you know an artists work inside out or have had plenty of ink from them in the past then go for it on trust.

If it is a first piece and you have had little time to study their work I would request that they do a quick shade to show how the colour scheme will work.

It is on for life and you want to see examples of the filling in as this is one of the most important aspects of the tattoo – don’t want it all spotty and crap.