PBimages
    Participant
    @pbimages

I got my first tat yesterday…

This is the advice I was given…

I was told to leave covered (with cling) for at least 3 hours, then wash/shower as normal recover with bepanthen and leave covered with cling overnight. Next day wash again and re-apply Bepanthen 4 or 5times a day.

Continue using Bepanthen for at least a week…

The question that I have…

Is it Ok to wash with a sponge as normal using Sanex moisturising bath cream?

Only I did use a spong last night to remove the Vasaline and ink residue… and the ink staining on my arm surrounding the tat that looked a right mess…

Have I already made a fatel mistake?

The tat on a whole looks great… all redness has gone… and my arm is no longer sore…

Should I now stop washing with a sponge and use just my hand… or am I safe to continue…

LAP13
    Participant
    @lap13

Hi

I’m no expert (I only got my first 4 weeks ago) and I’m sure you’ll get loads of responses soon, as everyone here is more than willling to help (there is so much knowledge)

I was told same thing – do what I’d normally do and use either bepanthen or Bach’s rescue cream (which I opted for as it’s just plant extracts and natural).
    I washed the area gently using fingers and it was fine. I only had very light peeling and no itching!

I think so long as you’re gentle and the sponge isn’t going to have an abrasive effect should be ok.

I’m also sure that if I’m completely wrong, I’ll be corrected soon enough!

😀

Sherav
    Participant
    @sherav

Hi

When washing the tattoo something soft such as fingers a soft wash cloth or sponge is fine. The main thing is to not rub it vigourously and to pat it dry gently.

Bethpanen or other antiseptics should be used for the first 2-3 days or so (some say 5 days) and then moisturise with non-scented lotion 2-3 times a day.

Main thing is to keep it clean and no picking.

Looking forward to seeing your ink.

Take Care
    Matthew

Azure
    Participant
    @azure