GloveSave
Participant
@glovesave

Hey everyone, my name is Aaron! I just joined here because I am looking to get my first tattoo. I’m a bad artist but I drew something up that I really like. It’s rough but I was hoping people could tell me what they think. The significance of this tattoo was inspired by a Yes song(I’ve seen all Good People). Thats where the lyrics come from. It’s one of my favorite songs and I love the imagery and uses of chess phrases to describe life. The mountain in the background is Grandfather Mountain in NC, it’s somewhere my father and I went often and I have a lot of good memories from. I wanted to add more, perhaps clouds and a skyline design with a bird. I also wasn’t sure want font to use for the lyric so if anyone knows of any that would match that would also be nice. Rant over, thanks for any help in advance!

SCN_0001-1.jpg

Adler
Participant
@adler

Interesting idea and unique. I also like Yes and like that song as well but I’m not artistically creative at all. A couple of thoughts, though, is if you’re going to use chess pieces like the song you need to have a queen since that’s the piece referenced in the song. Also, I’m not sure how the chesspieces will fit with the mountain but it might work and I like the idea of a background of sky and bird or something. I’m also not sure you even need they lyric at all, it might clutter it up too much and be unnecessary.
The key to something like this and every tattoo is finding the right artist so maybe we can help you depending on your location.

GloveSave
Participant
@glovesave
Adler;86258 wrote: