scubaron
    Participant
    @scubaron

I’m new to tattoos having started last year.

I’ve read as skin and tattoos age, the lines get thicker and blurry. I imagine that can might make some highly detailed tattoos age poorly ?

I wanted more detail in my octopus tattoo, but my artist said too much detail would not look good. He has 15+ yrs experience so I figured I should take his advice.

I really like the highly detailed tattoos I’m seeing from some of the new younger artists, but can a tattoo have too much detail ?

Sam-I-Am
    Participant
    @sam-i-am

Welcome to the forum!

I think a lot has to do with the way you take care of your tattoos.

I put sunscreen and moisturizer on with a miniature paint roller.

Keep tattoos moisturized and out of the sun and they, as well as your skin, will look good for a very long time.

buttwheat
    Participant
    @buttwheat

Short answer yes

scubaron
    Participant
    @scubaron

@Sam-I-Am 142114 wrote:

Welcome to the forum!

I think a lot has to do with the way you take care of your tattoos.

I put sunscreen and moisturizer on with a miniature paint roller.

Keep tattoos moisturized and out of the sun and they, as well as your skin, will look good for a very long time.

Paint roller ?

Anyway, I know keeping away from sun and using moisturizer will help all tattoos and skin look better, but skin does age, wrinkle and stretch, no matter what you do. And supposedly tattoo lines do get thicker and blur as a result of ink and skin aging.

I’m 49, my new tattoos don’t look as good on my skin as they would if I was 20, but then again, when I am 59 my tattoos will only have 10 yrs. of aging.

Guess what I am really asking is does anyone have or has seen a very detailed tattoo age well ?

poxphobia
    Participant
    @poxphobia