rooster44
    Participant
    @rooster44

i know i’m new here, and this topic may have been discussed in the past, just wanted some input. i’ve loved tattoos and the concept of skin as canvas for over 20years. i’m not a tattoo artist, but an artist nonetheless. about 10 years ago i started drawing tattoo concept drawings for friends, and before i knew it, i was getting referrals to draw for complete strangers. i don’t sell my work, i just suggest artists that i feel are good at the specific styles people have me draw. i never thought anything of it until a friend of a friend approached me and told me that they felt what i did was stealing the spotlight from the artists. i don’t think i’m the first person to draw my own work, and i was a little hurt that they basically accused me of being a little underhanded. just because i draw up the concept doesn’t mean the artist won’t or can’t put their own individual spin on it. am i really in the wrong for providing a concept drawing that clients can bring to their tattoo artist?

Sam-I-Am
    Participant
    @sam-i-am

My son can play the violin very well but the only thing he can play without music in front of him is the “Star Wars” movie theme. He’s a violin player, not a musician.

Three of the first four tattoos I had done were taken from pictures and traced on. The work being done now is drawn on free hand. Personally I think that is the difference between a “tattooer” and a “tattoo artist”. (Lindsay did my red and blue West African Rainbow lizard. She does show creative ability and may work on me in the future)

Some would be offended, others would not. I’ve learned a hell of alot the monts I’ve followed this forum.

rooster44
    Participant
    @rooster44

i appreciate your thoughts on this. anytime that i’ve brought in my own line drawings for a tattoo, it always seemed to me that my effort was appreciated.

yodaddynukka
    Participant
    @yodaddynukka