PiscesFish
    Participant
    @piscesfish

May I ask..what do people here with tattoos think of tattoos on the hands?

Lets say, the design was perfect..that isn’t the issue..

Really want to know if hand tattoo’s are still considered kind of taboo?

Pics if you have any would be really appreciated.

Izarrasink
    Participant
    @izarrasink

i have a hand tattoo, its more than likely in my album if you have a look, personally as a tattooist i generally only tattoo wedding bands, hand tattoos can limit job opportunites, also the ink needs to be retouched regularly i have found, i do mine once a year. I dont recommend getting your hands tattooed at all, its ok for me as thats what i do for a living.

Sherav
    Participant
    @sherav

Hi PisecesFish

In a nutshell hand tattoos are still very much taboo for a lot of cultures and often as Izz has stated they do limit job opportunities as many people do not like them.

There are many reasons for this and most are based upon popular culture conceptions that once in place are very hard to shift.

Many criminal elements would get their hands tattooed.

This could range from the common prison tatts of cobwebs (to show they have done time) or a msg across the knuckles such as ‘Juvy Hall’ or ‘Love/ Hate’

Then there are the more complex organised crime tattoos that would denote their status or crimes they have committed – particulary popular in earlier Russian criminals.

Then there are those who feel that hand tattoos are just ‘common’.
    They take a lot of looking after and need regular updating as well as being job limiting.

Personally I wouldn’t do it – but hey it is just my opinion i’m not arm bending here.

Think it over and if you really want to then do it just think before you ink.

Take Care
    Matthew

PiscesFish
    Participant
    @piscesfish

Thank you both. This was my idea. I’ve always wanted to have hand tattoo’s.

I have found 2 different Galleons I like (on tattoofinder) Jeanie Newby is the artist,