katelouise
    Participant
    @katelouise

hey all! i am planning on getting my very 1st tattoo soon, but i’m beginning to have some second thoughts. i’ve had some bad experiences with body mods: two attempts at ear cartilage piercings has left some bumpy keloid scars on my ear which are most likely permanent, & although my bellybutton piercing is fine now it was very infected for a long time which has resulted in another small lumpy scar-tissue keloidy area.

my question is about how likely it is that tattoos will cause the same kind of reaction. are piercings just simply harder to heal than tattoos? or should i not get a tattoo since i’ve experienced scarring with my piercings?

i don’t want to end up with some deformed, scarred, raised tattoo which has fucked up.

thanks so much for your help!!!

thelastrolo
    Participant
    @thelastrolo

from experience there are only 2 reasons why your mods or tattoos go bad:

1) you dont look after them

or

2) your artist is using dodgy equipment

SOLUTION:

1) Check artist for background details, health authority registration is a must

and

2) Make sure that you are clear about how to look after it. This forum is always here if you need any advice

If you follow basic instruction and are careful with the artist you choose (seriously… dont go to any tom, dick or harry) you should be the proud owner of some great artwork that you can cherish for the rest of your life. As far as design goes and how much you want it… you’ll know when you’ve made the right choices because you wont have any fears or doubts about getting work done.

🙂

hope this helps

Joe x

scrubmuncher
    Participant
    @scrubmuncher