Tashface
Participant
@tashface

And it’s really annoying me!
I’m in the midst of designing my second tattoo, which I hope to get pretty soon.
I’m not a designer, though. ๐Ÿ™ I can draw, but I’m just pathetic when it comes to being creative with this kind of thing. I want a fairly abstract phoenix rising upwards, nothing too detailed.

qqreo3.jpg

(it’s a really initial design, it’ll change very much before I decide to get it done.)

I think it’ll be going on the right side of my lower back, so I’m contemplating making the tail a little longer to wrap round my side just a tad. But I dunno. Seeing as it’s only my second I don’t want anything massive.

Is there anything you guys can think of to make it better? I know it’s missing something, there’s something that’s irritating me about it, but I don’t know what it is. Any help’d be appreciated.
Thank you <3

inkart
Participant
@inkart

While I really like the overall look of this design, I think that the proportions of the wings compared the body, as well as the overall shape kind of make this read as a lobster (like if you were to simplify the shape and just look at a silhouette). I think the tail is also a little short and wide and the overall action line is a little straightโ€”it might be nice if it had some curve to it to make it feel more flexible. The linework is great and the concept works. I think that it just needs a few small tweaks to be perfect.

Tashface
Participant
@tashface

Haha, I hear that (the lobster thing)! One of my friends said that the other day ๐Ÿ˜›

Thank you very much for the advice, I’ll rework it a little and repost in a bit ๐Ÿ™‚

[EDIT]

99o35s.jpg
Sorry for the poor quality, was taken with my webcam.
I’m still not keen on the wings, but I think the tail is much nicer now.

inkart
Participant
@inkart

I love the tail now. I like the shape of these wings better, but I liked the other ones because they were more wispy. I think you’re really close. Can’t wait to see the final product.