smiggle88
Participant
@smiggle88

Hi everyone. Im having my 2nd tattoo this coming november. And since Ive experienced the pain, i just dont want to get back from it! I just want to enjoy the process this time. Im thinking of using numbing creams. Any suggestions? Ive seen dr. numb, emla, supernumb etc… but what do you think is the best? of does mefenamic better? :confused:

MikeyC
Participant
@mikeyc

I have heard dr numb is the best. But i would talk with your tattoo artist about it.

Sam-I-Am
Participant
@sam-i-am

Some areas are more painful than others. I was concerned prior to getting a tattoo around my ankle down onto the top of my foot. I’ve heard that the numbing products wear off before the session is over. I didn’t use any and I didn’t think the pain was too bad.
What DID hurt was dressing up a tattoo that was about a month old. That felt like a damned weed whacker!

Definatly talk to the artist.

Sam

IrishEgyptian
Participant
@irishegyptian

As a nurse, I can tell you that lidocaine or any numbing agent will only dull the pain temporarily. It also depends, where are you getting the tattoo done, what’s its size, etc. the pain returns tenfold, so if you want to enjoy the tattoo, don’t use any numbing agent. Use ibuprofen or something about 20 minutes beforehand, as it will help with pain and swelling as well- never a numbing agent. I hope this helps.

jerryatrophy
Participant
@jerryatrophy

Dont use a numbing cream. From what ive heard, they work, but can lead to healing complications. Allergic reactions or irritations. Earn it. No drugs no pills no alcohol. Just you and your threshold.
Pain is temporary but a poorly healed tattoo is forever.

smiggle88
Participant
@smiggle88
MikeyC;119114 wrote:
I have heard dr numb is the best. But i would talk with your tattoo artist about it.

Yup. I would talk to my tat artist today. And we will see! ๐Ÿ™‚ Ill just get back here ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks!:)

smiggle88
Participant
@smiggle88
Sam-I-Am;119124 wrote: