goldengraemes
Participant
@goldengraemes

Hi All,
I have noticed quite a few of you submit progress shots of your tattoos which got me thinking how long does the average person sit for any why?
As an impulsive person when I commit to something I go for it and I am pretty much all or nothing.
As for tattooing I am new to the game and only have one half sleeve taking 8.5 hours in two sittings. 1st sitting outline and front of sleeve and second sitting outline finished on inner arm and shading.

What are your reasons for not getting your tattoo finished in one day?
Time?
Pain?
Money?
Or all of the above?
Any other reason?

I am planning on another half sleeve, a portrait, and a custom piece for when I have my first child. I would imagine the half sleeve again with be 2 or 3 sittings as I think it will take longer than the Koi but the rest would all be one sittings for 4 hours or less.

Apostle 228
Participant
@apostle-228

well, i usually sit for 3-4 hours at a time. the reasons being many actually.

1st, theres the money issue… i dont know about everyone else, but i cant afford more than 4 hours at a time worth of work usually ha.

2nd, yes there is the pain issue. ive personally discovered it starts to get bad around the 3 hour mark. for me at least, thats how it goes.

however, there is also another reason, more for healing and a good looking tattoo: you dont want your skin over-worked. its bad for you, and its bad for your tattoo. your tattoo simply will not turn out as well if you sit 8-10 hours in one sitting as opposed to breaking it down to 3 or 4 sittings. many artists wont do more than a certain amount of work on a person per sitting, for that very reason.

so, from my experience so far, the most both myself and my artists will handle in one sitting is between 3 and 4 hours

poxphobia
Participant
@poxphobia

I’v done everything from 1hour sittings, upto 9hours.