starvingcfi
Participant
@starvingcfi

I’ve wanted a tattoo since I was 18, but haven’t been able to decide what to get. Now I’m 31, still without ink, and considering pulling the trigger on a blacked out 1/4 sleeve. I’m thinking sort of a negative look, leaving bare skin for whatever design I choose. I’m considering leaving a Red Sox logo (the B) and whatever else the tattoo artist recommends. I figure if I hate it, it can be filled in later.

Does anyone have any experience with this? Any issues to consider?

I realize this is not the most original idea. However, it’s 13 years later and I still want something. If I keep waiting until I think of something with meaning (like one of those very meaningful chinese symbols :D) then I’ll just never have anything.

Also, I’m a corporate pilot so I have to stop at the 1/4. I’m thinking even then, I’ll have to switch to long sleeve shirts at work to be safe.

GrayCatLove
Participant
@graycatlove

I think what matters is YOU like it – My first tattoo wasn’t terribly original. A coed getting a cherry blossom is like a biker getting a naked lady. I like it, though, and it’s my own.

Like you, I’m a professional who really can’t have visible tattoos. (I LOVE the Red Sox, too!) I’m not sure a 1/4 sleeve that forever limits your clothing choices at work is a wise idea for a first tattoo if you’re already doubting you like it. You can get a tattoo just to get a tattoo, for the life experience, and while I don’t think it’s a bad reason, do you really want to be 40 and kicking yourself because you’re trapped in a hot cockpit in your little long-sleeved dress shirt with a tattoo you don’t really like? Get one in a more discreet place first. Just my two cents.

mrchen
Participant
@mrchen

A team logo is not much of a piece in my mind, why don’t you go see an artist and talk about some ideas, I think you will come up with something good together

starvingcfi
Participant
@starvingcfi