Crackbaby
Participant
@crackbaby

I’m tryin’ to put together some artwork to take in for a new apprenticeship. I’d like to know what people think and what to improve on, but a good ole pat on the back never hurts. lol

Panter
Participant
@panter

Well, I’m no artist, but that certainly looks like decent artwork to me 😎

anonymous
Participant
@anonymous

Looks good to me as well, but I would definitely work on the hands (e.g. the 3rd image).

BananaBread
Participant
@bananabread

I’m definitely no art critic but it looks good to me. I especially like the Kermit one.

FEARoftheDARK
Participant
@fearofthedark

Hey,

I definitely like all of these, well done!

#2 Eyes are killer for this picture, and when working with portraits, one small detail like that can mean disaster. You’re missing lighter shading and detail.

The right ear is also a good size bigger then the left one and stood out immediately.

Overall line work could be better in certain areas, a little more of a steady hand.

You’ve got some talent! Awesome work!

Cheers,
Marcus

Sherav
Participant
@sherav

A good start and plenty of talent.

Again you need to work on proportions a little more (try sketching hands and arms from a mirror perspective).
I would also say the Budda would burst with some more shading or a bit of colour splash such as red.

You def have skill and for a portfolio I would recommend the following;

10-12 pieces properly mounted and on decent art paper, canvas etc (first impressions count).

Use a mixture of colour and black and shade pieces.

Also include examples;

Portrait (Human)

Japanese/Chinese Koi, Blossoms, Dragons etc

Animal pieces both head and body (Horses and big cats)

Fantasy Piece

Bio-Mech

Tribal

Old school (Ships, Hearts, Anchors, Daggers)

Also don’t be afraid to do some religious artwork such as crucifixes, sacred heart, star of david etc

You have plenty of talent but have to show that you can work across a range of media.